· management · corporate governance
·  the board · mining charter scorecard

the board

board photos


  1. Fred Roux (57) (Chairman)

    BSc, MSc, PhD, MBA. Non-executive director of Xstrata plc. Joined the Board in 2004 and appointed Chairman in 2004.
  2. Michael McMahon* (58)

    Pr.Eng. BSc (Mech Eng). Director of Gold Fields Limited, Murray & Roberts Holdings Limited. Joined the group in 1990 as managing director, appointed Chairman in 1993 and a non-executive director in 2002.
  3. Vivienne Mennell (62)

    BA, MBA, FCMA, THD. Joined the Board in 1990 as financial director. Re-joined the Board in 1998 as a non-executive director.
  4. Khotso Mokhele (49)

    BSc (Agriculture), MSc (Food Science), PhD (Microbiology). Director Mittal Steel South Africa Limited, President and Chief Executive Officer of the National Research Foundation. Joined the Board in 2004.
  5. Thandi Orleyn (49)

    B Juris, B Proc, LLB. Director of Routledge-Modise attorneys. Joined the Board in 2004.
  6. John Roberts (63)

    FCIS, FCMA, MBA (Henley). Joined the Board in 1998.
  7. Lex van Vught (62)

    BSc (Hons) (Chemistry), B Comm. Director AECI, Tiger Brands Limited. Joined the Board in 2004.

* British

board photos


  1. Thabo Mokgatlha (30)

    CA (SA). Financial Director of Royal Bafokeng Resources Management Services (Pty) Limited. Joined the Board in 2003 as nominee of the Royal Bafokeng Nation.


  1. Keith Rumble (51) (Chief executive officer)

    BSc (Hons), MSc (Geology). Joined the group in 2001 in that capacity.
  2. David Brown (43)

    (Executive director and chief financial officer) CA (SA). Joined the group in 1999 in that capacity.
  3. Cathie Markus (48)

    (Executive director) BA, LLB. Joined the group as legal adviser in 1991 and appointed to the Board in 1998.
  4. Les Paton(53)

    (Executive director) BSc (Hons) (Geology), B Comm. Joined the group as geologist in 1975 and appointed to the Board in 2003.
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited
Annual Report 2005