About Implats

Board of directors

Independent non-executive directors


Dr Khotso Mokhele (Chairman) (57)

BSc (Agriculture), MSc (Food Science), PhD (Microbiology)

Dr Mokhele has been a Non-executive Director of Implats since 2004.  He obtained his BSc in Agriculture at the University of Fort Hare, South Africa, and his MSc food Science and PhD Microbiology at the University of California in the United States.  While in the United States, he also completed the Stanford Executive Programme at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business. In addition to his chairmanship of Implats, Khotso is also currently Chairman of Adcock Ingram Holdings Limited and a Non-executive Director of both African Oxygen Limited and Tiger Brands Limited.  He was appointed as Chairman of Implats in November 2009.


Hugh Cameron (61)

BCom, BAcc, CA (SA)
Hugh is a chartered accountant and was previously a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers where he specialised in mining and headed up their global mining practice for a number of years. He serves on the board of First Uranium Corporation. He was appointed to the Implats board in November 2010.


Peter Davey (60)

BSc Mining Eng, MBA
Peter joined the Implats board on 1 July 2013. He is a graduate of the University of Wales (Cardiff), and obtained his MBA at the University of Witwatersrand. Peter has extensive experience in production management in gold and platinum mining in South Africa. He has worked as a mining analyst at various investment banks, held the position of Managing Director of BJM UK (London) Limited, and was also a mining specialist for Ernst and Young (UK). He is currently a director at Dlamp Consulting Limited in the UK. Peter also owns a consultancy company.


Mandla Gantsho (50)

B Com (Hons), CTA, CA (SA), MSc,
M Phil, PhD

Mandla is a chartered accountant by profession and holds a PhD in entrepreneurship from the University of Pretoria. He is currently the Chief Executive Officer and Director of NOVA Capital Africa, a Non-executive Director of Sasol Limited and a Director of the South African Reserve Bank. He Joined the Implats board in November 2010.


Alastair Macfarlane (62)

MSc (Eng), Associateship of the Camborne School of Mines, Mine Managers Certificate
Alistair has gained extensive experience in various senior management positions across the mining industry. He is currently a consultant to mining companies. He joined the Board of Directors on December 2012


Almorie Maule (65)

MSc (Mathematics and statistics)
Almorie was appointed to the Implats board in November 2011. She has extensive experience in both the South Africa mining and energy sectors. She has previously worked for Impala Platinum Limited, Gencor Limited and Engen Petroleum Limited where she was appointed Chief Executive Officer in 1999. She is currently a Non-executive Director of Old Mutual Life Assurance Company (SA) and Mutual & Federal Insurance Company Limited as well as a Director of a non-profit company Women in Oil and Energy South Africa NPC.

Thabo Mokgatlha  

Thabo Mokgatlha (37)

BCompt (Hons), CA (SA)
Thabo graduated from the University of the North West and was the Financial Director of Royal Bafokeng Resources Management Services (Pty) Limited. He is an Independent Director of RMB Holdings Limited. He joined the Implats board in February 2003 as a nominee of the Royal Bafokeng Nation and resigned this position in August 2013. He was appointed as an independent non-executive director on 8 August 2013.


Babalwa Ngonyama (37)

BCompt (Hons), CA (SA), MBA
Babalwa joined the board in November 2010 and is a chartered accountant by profession. She was previously Chief Internal Auditor of Nedbank. Currently, she is a Director of Hollard.

Thandi Orleyn  

Thandi Orleyn (56)

BJuris, BProc, LLB
Thandi is a graduate of the Universities of Fort Hare and South Africa and has also completed the Executive Management Program at the Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University in the USA.  Thandi was previously National Director of the Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration and is a Non-executive Director of ArcelorMittal South Africa Limited and Reunert Limited among others.  She joined the Implats board in April 2004.


Non-executive directors


Albertinah Kekana (40)

BCom, CA(SA)
Albertinah was appointed to the Implats board as a representative of Royal Bafokeng Holdings (Pty) Limited, on
8 August 2013.  Albertinah holds a BCom degree and has completed the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard University.  She qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1994 and has extensive investment banking, corporate finance and business leadership experience, including nine years as an executive within the Public Investment Corporation (PIC).  She is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Royal Bafokeng Holdings (Pty) Ltd.


Brett Nagle

BCom, CA(SA)
Brett was appointed to the Implats board on 8 August 2013 as a non-executive director representing Royal Bafokeng Holdings (Pty) Ltd. He is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and has extensive investment banking, corporate finance and mining experience, having previously worked at Rand Merchant Bank (a division of the FirstRand Bank Limited), specialising in resource finance.


Executive directors


Brenda Berlin (48)

BCom, BAcc, CA (SA)
Chief Financial Officer
Brenda is a chartered accountant by profession.She joined Implats in 2004 to head up the corporate finance activities for the Group and was later appointed Group Executive: Strategy and Business Development where she has been involved in all recent major transactions. She was appointed as Executive Director : Finance and to the Implats board in February 2011.


Terence Goodlace (53)

NHD: Metalliferous Mining, BCom, MBA
Chief Executive Officer
Terence was appointed to the Implats board in August 2010 and as Chief Executive Officer in July 2012.  He has extensive mining experience and was previously the Chief Executive Officer and a director of Metorex Limited.  He has also served as Group Chief Operating Officer at Gold Fields where he worked for almost 27 years in various capacities. 


Where we operate